KSP Class 95 LW518

FRANKFORT, Ky. (8/11/17) — Kentucky State Police Academy presented diplomas to 41 new troopers at ceremonies held in Frankfort today, KSP announced. Their addition to the force brings the agency’s strength to a total of 866 troopers serving the citizens of the commonwealth.

KSP Commissioner Rick Sanders said the addition of these newly-graduated troopers will help with the current strength, but does not come close to resolving the agency’s shortage of personnel.

“Like other police agencies, we have been challenged with maintaining our strength of active officers in light of retirements and attrition,” Sanders said. “In 2000, the agency manpower was more than 1,000. Yet, we are doing more today with fewer personnel and resources than we had back then. To add to this dilemma, we are servicing a higher population while seeing new crime that we didn’t have in the past such as human trafficking, electronic sexual exploitation of children and the potential threat of terrorism.” 

Sanders went on to say that “the role of law enforcement has developed exponentially to meet the needs of an ever-changing society, and KSP is a significantly more specialized agency compared to the past. With more troopers working in specialized capacities that means fewer troopers available to respond to calls for service.”

The new troopers are part of the agency’s 95th cadet class, which was the agency’s fourth Law Enforcement Accelerated Program (LEAP), a condensed course for current officers who have two years of Kentucky Police Officer Professional Standards law enforcement experience.

They reported for duty on May 21, 2016 in a class that consisted of 63 cadets. Twenty-two resigned during the program.

The training included more than 500 hours of classroom and field study in subjects such as constitutional law, juvenile and traffic law, use of force, weapons training, defensive tactics, first aid, high speed vehicle pursuit, criminal investigations, computer literacy, hostage negotiations, evidence collection, radio procedures, search and seizure, crash investigation, drug identification, traffic control, crowd control, armed robbery response, land navigation, electronic crimes, sex crimes, hate crimes, domestic violence, bomb threats and hazardous materials.

Several members of the class earned special recognitions including valedictorian Matt Parmley of Monticello and salutatorian Jerry Baker of Viper.

Clayton Ellis of Elizabethtown received the Ernie Bivens Award, an honor presented to the cadet who, in the opinion of the KSP Academy staff supported by input from the cadets themselves, shows distinction as a class leader, strives for academic excellence and has excelled in all phases of the academy’s physical and vocational training. 

Justin Flannery of Hazel Green received the Commissioner’s Commitment to Excellence Award, which is presented to cadets who demonstrate leadership, the desire to get the job done and the determination to be the best every day.

The following is a list of the new troopers, their duty assignments and their hometowns or residences:


Jay D. Dunn, Mayfield

James B. Luckett, Louisville



Richard Hunter Carroll, Hopkinsville



Joseph O. Beasley, Leitchfield

Richard C. Ellis, Elizabethtown

Tyler K. Lynch, Big Spring



Neal M. Barnes, Richmond

Casey Y. Caudill, Winchester

Toney R. Dollins, Jr., Crab Orchard

Jack E. Lakes, Annville

Joshua S. Roaden, Berea

Carl B. Roark, Richmond

Jacob R. Shepherd, Lancaster

Adam R.G. Short, Mt. Vernon



Justin A. Flannery, Hazel Green

Christopher H. Ingram, Ewing

Justin T. Reynolds, Florence

Kyler B. Wright, Morehead



Billy E. Holbrook, Paintsville

Darvin E. Marsillett, Auxier



Sidney K. Wagner, Corbin

Michael A. Wilson, London



Shawn M. Boroviak, London

Keegan T. Bray, Somerset

Adam Cole Dodson, Monticello

Jordan P. Hopkins, London

Matthew Kyle Parmley, Monticello

Travis Lane Thompson, Somerset

Seath A. Whiles, Somerset

Logan T. Wolfe, Manchester



Bradley S. Gillock, Morehead

Andrew W. Lee, Lebanon

William C. Spears, Lawrenceburg



William W. Adams, Whitesburg

Jerry A. Baker, Hazard

Wilson G. Jones, Hazard



Dexter B. Colvin, Campbellsville

Ricky E. Cross, Edmonton

Daniel S. Forbis, Campbellsville

Allen D. Shirley, Columbia



Shaun R. Schroader, Philpot


Each new trooper will be supervised by a training officer for six to eight weeks after reporting to their post assignments.

SurfKY News
Information provided by Trooper Sean Wint, Post 2 Public Information Officer

sitelogosm© Copyright 2008 - 2017 SurfKY News Group, Inc. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, or rewritten without permission.

Click here to subscribe to receive daily updates by email.

Most Read This Week

Sep 24, 2017 11729

UPDATE: Central City Woman Dies in 2-Vehicle Collision

by Rita Dukes Smith, SurfKY News Director
Sep 25, 2017 4840

Man Disguised as Soft Drink Allegedly Robs Henderson Restaurant

by Doreen Dennis, SurfKY News

Most Read This Month

Sep 12, 2017 28657

Madisonville Man Charged with Sexually Abusing 4-year-old Girl

by Doreen Dennis, SurfKY News

Weather brought to you by

°F | °C
Mostly Sunny
Humidity: 51%
Mostly Sunny
66 | 89
18 | 31
68 | 90
20 | 32
Mostly Sunny
68 | 88
20 | 31
63 | 78
17 | 25

Stories Trending Today

Rita 9 24
Sep 24, 2017 11729

UPDATE: Central City Woman Dies in 2-Vehicle Collision

by Rita Dukes Smith, SurfKY News Director
armed robbery2 300
Sep 25, 2017 4840

Man Disguised as Soft Drink Allegedly Robs Henderson Restaurant

by Doreen Dennis, SurfKY News
fatal collision 3 300
Sep 25, 2017 1493

Man Dies from Injuries in Sept. 21 Collision

by SurfKY News Staff Report

Market Report

Market Report brought to you by